Pingree Grove has a long history, but few historical structures remain.
Established in 1910, this charming church still holds a soft spot in the hearts of the community. Formerly a functioning Lutheran church,
the structure was abandoned but not forgotten. We restored this building for memorable gatherings & celebrations for years to come!
The lumber and materials were purchased from a local resident, E.A. Franzen, who owned the local lumber business at the time. St. Peter’s Lutheran Church was organized in 1890 but was originally named the German Lutheran Church of Pingree Grove. The congregation purchased the building in June of 1935 for $500.
The bell tower, which still stands, houses 2 separate bells with pulls extending into the foyer.
The gothic stained-glass windows come from Kokomo, Indiana, and were installed in 1948. The congregation occupied the space until 2014 when it was dissolved, and donated to the village.